Leichtbaugarage #18 Engine @ DeLorean (DMC-12)

In the 1970s, John DeLorean developed a vision for future automobiles that he was unable to realise at General Motors. As a result, the Pontiac GTO inventor founded his own company - the DeLorean Motor Company. The only vehicle sold was the 1,286 kg DMC-12, which was named after its planned list price of $12,000.

Lightweight Garage #16 Bio-based plastics @ Soybean car (Ford 1941)

On 14 August 1941, the New York Times reported on page 19 about a novel vehicle concept that had been presented the day before in Dearborn, Michigan. Henry Ford had itroduced a car with plastic panelling to 10,000 interested people. Unforunately the car never went into series production but nevertheless went down in history as the innovative Soybean Car.

TGM Special: Concept Carbon Heat Exchanger

Typically, heat transfer systems for air cooling in the automotive sector are designed as metallic finned heat exchangers with focus on corrosion and media resistance. This design generates a large transfer surface within limited package, but the materials currently used result in an increased dead weight, which is also leads to heavier surrounding structures. In most vehicles, integration of the function into existing structural components is not possible due to the material and the design.

Lighten Up! The 2022 Lightweight Conference

Are you an expert on Lightweighting and weight management? Or do you want to meet others who are?
Is your company challenged to meet demanding weight targets?
Are you on track in the race towards carbon-neutral mobility?
Or do you want to simply save time and money in your engineering processes?

TGM special: Modular Lightweight Starterbattery

Besides our passion for analysing existing vehicles in our lightweight garage, we also get creative ourselves designing new lightweight concepts. Together with our partners, the National Manufacturing Institute Scotland, Litewerks and the Koller Group, we have developed a modular modular lightweight starter battery to replace conventional heavy lead lead batteries. The starting point is the technology change to lithium iron phosphate, as the stable voltage plateau above the capacity enables efficient use.

English
WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner

Leichtbaugarage #18 Engine @ DeLorean (DMC-12)

In den 1970 Jahren entwickelte sich bei John DeLorean eine Vision für zukünftige Automobile, die er bei General Motors nicht umsetzen konnte. Daraufhin gründete der Pontiac GTO-Erfinder seine eigene Firma – die DeLorean Motor Company. Einziges verkauftes Fahrzeug war der 1.286 kg schwere DMC-12, welcher nach seinem geplanten Listenpreis von 12.000$ benannt wurde.

Leichtbaugarage #16 Biobasierte Kunststoffe @ Soybean Car (Ford 1941)

Am 14. August 1941 berichtete die New York Times auf Seite 19 über ein neuartiges Fahrzeugkonzept, das am Tag zuvor in Dearborn, Michigan, vorgestellt worden war. Henry Ford hatte vor 10.000 Interessierten ein Auto mit Kunststoff-Verkleidungen vorgestellt, welches nie in Serie ging, aber dennoch als innovatives Soybean Car in die Geschichte einging.

TGM Spezial: Konzept Carbon Heat Exchanger

Typischerweise werden Wärmeübertragungssysteme zur Luftkühlung im Automotive-Bereich als metallische Lamellenwärmetauscher ausgeführt und auf Korrosions- und Medienbeständigkeit ausgelegt. Diese Bauweise ermöglicht eine große Übertragungsfläche bei begrenztem Bauraum, jedoch ergibt sich durch die aktuell eingesetzten Werkstoffe ein erhöhtes Eigengewicht, welches sich auch auf die schwerer auszuführenden Umgebungsstrukturen niederschlägt. Bei den meisten Fahrzeugen ist auf Grund des Materials und der Bauweise eine Funktionsintegration in bestehende Strukturbauteile nicht möglich.

Lighten Up! The 2022 Lightweight Conference

Are you an expert on Lightweighting and weight management? Or do you want to meet others who are?
Is your company challenged to meet demanding weight targets?
Are you on track in the race towards carbon-neutral mobility?
Or do you want to simply save time and money in your engineering processes?

TGM Spezial : Modulare Leichtbau-Starterbatterie

Neben unserer Leidenschaft bestehende Fahrzeuge in unserer Leichtbaugarage zu analysieren, werden wir auch selbst kreativ, um neue Leichtbaukonzepte zu schaffen. Zusammen mit unseren Partnern, dem National Manufacturing Institute Scotland, Litewerks und der Koller Gruppe, haben wir eine modulare Leichtbaustarterbatterie entwickelt, um herkömmliche, schwere Blei-Batterien zu ersetzen. Ausgangspunkt ist der Technologiewechsel auf Lithium-Eisenphosphat, da das stabile Spannungsplateau über der Kapazität eine effiziente Nutzung ermöglicht.

Leichtbaugarage #7 Aluminium Chassis @ Audi A8 D2 (4D)

Diesmal steht der legendäre Nachfolger des Audi V8, der erste Audi A8, hinter unserer Garagentür. Mit einem Leergewicht von 1,46 bis 1,75 t und einer Motorisierung mit bis zu 309 kW und 550 Nm für den W12 Motor war der Audi A8 das Flaggschiff des damaligen Produktportfolios.

German
WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner